top of page

Travelling to Thailand!

Updated: May 1, 2019

Although this isn’t a particularly Erasmus based blog post, I was excited to share my recent trip to Thailand and considering it has been within my Erasmus year I thought I would post about it! After finding out in late February that I was going on a rare family trip as since myself and my brother have got older my parents go away alone a lot, and the fact that we were going to Thailand I was beyond excited to say the least! I’ve been wanting to travel to Asia for a while, I just haven’t had the opportunity or time. It was a celebratory trip as my parents have both recently turned 50, my brother 18 and me 21 so as they were all milestone birthdays which obviously needed celebrating by an extravagant trip!


We started off our journey on the 5th April when we flew from Heathrow to Bangkok, we stayed 5 nights and our hotel was amazing! Situated right on the river in a fancy 5 star hotel, what could be better? After I mentioned this to a few people, we were told that 5 nights would be too long there as it’s such a busy city, but I definitely disagree. I could have spent longer there as there is plenty to see and do.


After a sleepless night travelling, I started our first day very tired but equally as excited. We began with a hop on, hop off boat trip down the famous river which was the best way to see all the sites. We then headed to a floating food market where I enjoyed the BEST, traditional Thai food I have ever eaten and I hoped the amazing food would continue, which it definitely did. I didn’t realise I could enjoy rice and noodles anymore but I was proven wrong!


Our second day began and it was just as jam packed and tiring trying to fit as much as humanly possible while struggling in the 40 degree heat. We went to Khao San Road then to watch a Muay Thai boxing match at The Channel 7 Studios. I would recommend that anyone visiting should go to see this, even though I never knew I had any interest in Muay Thai, the atmosphere was something else and made the entire event very enjoyable. After watching 6 matches, we headed to the Chatuchak Weekend Market which was full of thousands of stalls; from food to clothes and everything in between. We grabbed a quick street food stall snack and then back to the hotel and got ready to go into Chinatown for dinner. We began the evening at a riverside bar and then got a Tuk Tuk into the centre of Chinatown to see the bright lights and eat some more amazing food.



On our third day we went to The Grand Palace which was like nothing else i’ve seen before. It was the home of the Thai King and the buildings dated back to the 14th Century. The detail in the multiple buildings is mesmerising and a must visit if ever in Bangkok. Also make sure you wear appropriate clothing as you have to have your knee’s and shoulders covered, which we didn’t know so had to buy some interesting outfits! The following day we also spent visiting some other sites such as the Wrun Arun Temple, The Siam Shopping mall and finally to Patpong which was an interesting experience to say the least.



Our final day had arrived much sooner than we had liked. Our last meal was at the Asiatique Riverfront, which was similar to a pier at home; with restaurants, shops and fairground rides. From my experience in Bangkok, I will admit it was not what I was expecting but definitely in a positive way. There was so much to do and I can’t wait to visit again. Since being here I’ve now planned to go later on this year with my boyfriend as he has a friend who is getting married in Fang which is near Chiang Mai which we have been invited too. Fortunately another excuse to travel and for some work experience as I have been asked photograph the wedding and their various other celebrations.



Although it felt like our holiday was ending as we said goodbye to Bangkok, we were only half way through and now on route to Phuket! We arrived after a short hour flight and just like in Bangkok it was just as hot and not a cloud in the sky. It took us about an hour to get from the airport to our hotel which was based by Surin Beach. As it was only 1pm we unpacked immediately and went straight to the beach to ensure we didn’t waste out first day!



The following day we meet a rep who suggested various trips but we had already looked into this and knew we wanted to go on the boat trip to James Bond Island, to an Elephant Sanctuary and to Phi Phi islands which was exactly what we did. Unfortunately the trips were super expensive, but all worth every penny. My favourite being the Elephant Sanctuary as it was so nice to see the elephants being treated so well, we visited their rehabilitation centre, made their food, fed them, played with them and washed them in lake. I definitely want to do this in Chiang Mai when I go later on this year as there is a very well known Sanctuary there.



Other than the trips we did, we also went to a few markets and to 3 different beaches! Whilst we were in Phuket it was the Songkran festival which is a celebration of Thai new year; a national holiday celebrated in every part of Thailand. It was celebrated from Saturday 13th to Monday 15th and you couldn’t leave your hotel room without getting absolutely soaked which to be honest was a blessing as it was so hot! There were celebrations everywhere; street parties, foam parties and water fights.


To be honest, I didn’t want to leave so I’m glad that as soon as I’m home I’ll be able to book my next trip. Next time I’m visiting Bangkok, Chiang Mai, Phuket, Krabi and island hopping around some other near by islands.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Erasmus Trip: Seville

I am now on route to Seville and this is my last trip of my Erasmus experience. Luckily before arriving in Seville one of my friends had a travel guide given to her from a friend who had visited Sevil

bottom of page