top of page

An Interview with Lloydigolf

On the 20th February at the One Golf Club Ryder Cup event at Walton Heath Golf Club we hosted Lloyd and Fiona of LloydiGolf, amongst others. While we all had a great day, we also took the opportunity to ask them a few questions about their relationship with the game of golf and their business. Referred to as the ‘Face of Amateur Golf’, Lloyd quickly mentioned that “golf is a difficult game to start with and not easy to end with” which I’m sure is very relatable to most who have played the game!



How are you both involved with ‘LloydiGolf’?

I [Lloyd] am currently a semi professional golf Vlogger, I go around various golf courses, to golfing events and love all things amateur golf. Whereas, I [Fiona] also play a little but help by filming and posting on Lloyd’s social media sites. 


What is Vlogging?

An abbreviation of a ‘video log’, similar to an online written blog but using film. We use it to showcase our golfing experiences; courses we play and people we meet. 


How did you get into it?

I [Lloyd] started playing golf around 3 years ago, I thought to myself why am I playing this game? It’s difficult, I just don’t get it! I then received a lot of responses on my Instagram, where I posted my ‘vlogs’, I continued then got addicted. I taught myself to edit and I’m now trying to pursue it full time. 


How did you meet?

Last year Lloyd created a series to ‘Teach a stranger to play golf’, he was advertising it on his Instagram, and I messaged him. A few weeks later he came to Scotland and he began to teach me. I [Fiona] was very unprepared, I had never played golf before. We created a 10-part series and it took off from there! 



What is the dynamic of your relationship?

We bounce off each other, we’re better as a pair. We have fun ideas and travel around the world playing golf together. 


What are your aims?

We aim to grow the game, to promote from grass roots level up. We are currently doing a series, ‘Anyone Can Golf’, the sport is for everyone and anyone with our aim to make golf accessible to everyone. 


Have you any advice for ladies?

I [Fiona] had a great response from all the ladies I met when I started out playing golf, they offered me help, advice and were really kind. Women believe golf is a male orientated sport, they get nervous, but this is not the case. I would suggest going to the range to begin with, then get some professional lessons. You will be very surprised with who can help and how quickly you get into it!


What is the most special experience you have had so far?

Last week we got the opportunity to play golf with a blind golfer. It made us think that really ANYONE can play golf. He was teaching us how he putts using the echo of my [Fiona] voice which helped him figure out how many feet away the hole was.


What tips do you have for starting amateur golfers?

Enjoy it. The game of golf is very difficult, I’m [Lloyd] three years in and it is still difficult. Find friends, make it a sociable experience and have fun.

Lloyd and Fiona then gave us a great piece of advice which we would like to share with all our fellow golfers.


1)   You are only competing against yourself.


2)   90% of the game is between the ears and not what is in front of you.




Golf really is a very mentally challenging game and it was great to have such an interesting conversation with both Lloyd and Fiona; we hope to play some more golf with them soon.  

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Erasmus Trip: Seville

I am now on route to Seville and this is my last trip of my Erasmus experience. Luckily before arriving in Seville one of my friends had a travel guide given to her from a friend who had visited Sevil

bottom of page